Here’s one way to ensure your vanilla extract is certified gluten free vanilla extract. Make it yourself—it’s so easy!
How to Make Gluten Free Vanilla Extract
There is no other scent quite as intoxicating and seductive as that of the vanilla bean. Capturing the essence of this precious fruit for use in baking is remarkably easy to do at home—DIY and gluten-free. With two ingredients and a little patience, you are on your way to making pure vanilla extract. Quality vanilla beans may be sourced from finer cooking stores and online. At www.beanilla.com, you will find a wide selection of Mexican, Madagascar, and Tahitian beans both in Grade A (for baking, drinks, and desserts) and Grade B (for extract making). And then there is always Orgain Organic Sweet Vanilla Bean, 11-Ounce Container (Pack of 12) Amazon.
What Celiac Authorities Say About Distilled Alcohols
Most authorities say that people with celiac disease can safely consume distilled alcoholic beverages, even those crafted using gluten grains. That’s because the distillation process supposedly removes all of the gluten protein molecules responsible for a reaction. However, the Celiac Sprue Association does not necessarily agree. When it comes to distilled alcoholic beverages, the association recommends celiacs consume only spirits crafted from non-grain sources and in dedicated gluten-free facilities.